Movie review (horror): The Violent Kind (2010)

July 17, 2011 at 11:09 pm (horror, movies)

I so totally wanted to like this movie. Outlaw bikers vs. evil, possibly undead rockabillies? Yays! But it fell short of its potential.

There were a lot of good things here. Good characterization, good direction. The head rockabilly guy was exceptionally fun and evil.

I absolutely love what was implied in this movie. I’m not going to say what–don’t want to spoil it. But there’s such a thing as being too obscure. I don’t need (or even like) to have a movie spelled out for me like a kids’ book, but on the other hand, it’s nice to know WTF is going on.

The main plot element is revealed about halfway through the film, but it just isn’t developed enough. I was fascinated with that weird twist, and I wanted more. Never got it.

I’m not going to either recommend this movie, or discourage you from seeing it. If you’re a horror fan, you may enjoy it. Just don’t expect a coherent narrative. While “The Violent Kind” kept my attention, it also kind of bummed me out, because it could have been so much better.

Very good gore, BTW. All practical effects.

Rated R
3 stars
Pretty nasty stuff. Definitely not for kids or younger teens.

Leave a Reply

