Movie review (horror): Repo! The Genetic Opera (2008)

July 17, 2011 at 11:37 pm (dark comedy, horror, movies)

I don’t know how or why I managed to wait so long to see this movie. But I freakin’ loved it.

It really is a rock opera. There is almost no talking. I loved the music–it was varied and always interesting. I didn’t know Paul Sorvino had such an amazing voice! Anthony Stuart Head (of Buffy fame) kicked some major butt as the Repossesser.

What’s being repossessed are internal organs, so obviously, this movie is pretty gory. They don’t pull their punches on the splatter, and it’s high-quality stuff.

The story was interesting and it played out well. It sucked me completely in. I’ve watched it 3 times so far, and I’ve seen new details every time.

Rated R
5 stars!
Really, really bloody. Not for younger teens.

Leave a Reply

