Movie review (horror): Red Riding Hood (2011)

July 17, 2011 at 11:25 pm (horror, movies)

I know, I know, most of the serious horror fans I know thought this movie blew cheese. But it was actually a lot better than I expected.

I love Amanda Seyfried, and I love Gary Oldman. They were both terrific. To be clear, although most of the cast was very young, this was NOT a Twilight ripoff. The tone was very dark, and nothing supernatural sparkled.

The werewolf was a CG creation, but he was really cool-looking. Kind of a demonic Black Dog sort of fellow. I figured out who the werewolf really was before the reveal, but that’s OK. I watch so much of this stuff it’s hard to surprise me.

I couldn’t help but compare this movie to “The Company of Wolves,” which blows the doors off of “Red Riding Hood.” This movie was nowhere as deep or twisted. But I will say that I loved the sets. They were weird, not quite of this world, and totally immersive. I haven’t seen a village set quite that cool since Tim Burton’s “Sleepy Hollow.”

Not enough blood. Werewolf movies should have tons of blood.

Rated PG-13
3 1/2 stars
Okay for young teens who aren’t easily spooked

Leave a Reply

