It’s alive!

July 10, 2011 at 8:58 pm (books, movies, weird west)

Me, I mean. I’ve neglected my blog for 7 long months. But I’m getting back in the saddle again, so to speak! I like to review movies and books here, so I’ll mention a few.

If you haven’t read Under The Poppy by Kathe Koja yet, Go READ IT! It’s just fantastic. Not a horror story (despite very dark events at times), but a wonderful character study of the people who live in and around a highly unusual brothel. Great stuff!

I also just finished Silent Weapons for Quiet Wars by Cody Goodfellow. He is a fantastic writer, whether he’s writing alone, or with the eternally awesome John Skipp.  Silent Weapons is a collection of short stories, and there’s not a clunker in the whole book. Pick up something–anything–by Cody. You won’t regret it.

Dig zombies? Well, who the heck doesn’t? If so, go read Thom Carnell’s amazing book No Flesh Shall Be Spared. It’s an extremely original take on the zombie story. I don’t want to say too much and spoil the fun, but this is a book filled with zombies, badass cage fights, and nonstop action. I liked it so much I read it twice!

Movies: I just saw Jonah Hex. It almost made me cry. Not because it was sad or scary, but because they messed up my beloved childhood comic book SO BADLY! It wasn’t Josh Brolin or John Malkovich’s fault, they both turned in excellent performances. So did Megan Fox. (Yep, I’m afraid I like Megan Fox. I really liked “Jennifer’s Body,” and I’m unapologetic about it!) However, the script was so dumb is was practically brain dead. Sigh. It’s not very long, so if you like Weird West, Gatling guns, or watching stuff blow up, you might enjoy parts of it. There are individual scenes that had a lot of great visual style. It just could have been so much better.

Pretty grim stuff–probably not for younger kids. Believe the PG-13 rating on this one.

Yays, I broke my blog ice! I’ll be better about it, Girl Scout’s Honor.

Leave a Reply

