Movie review: (horror) “The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari” (2005)

December 11, 2010 at 9:06 pm (horror, movies)

I was pretty skeptical about this. A remake of “Cabinet?” Seriously? I mean, look at the remake of “Psycho.” No wait, don’t. But I was pleasantly surprised by this film.

For one thing, it was shot entirely on greenscreen, using digitally restored versions of the original Expressionist sets. for another thing, DOUG JONES as Cesare! Yay! And his Cesare actually gets more screen time than the original, who was played by a young and adorable Conrad Veight.

I wasn’t sure what I would think about the movie being a “talkie,” but I think they got it just right. The filmmakers followed the story exactly, but expanded on the characters a little bit. Still has the same wicked twist ending.

Okay–the Caligari character in the original was creepier than the one in the remake. But hey, you can’t have everything.

I recommend watching the original and the remake back to back. It’s definitely a fun experience. But now I’m having the overwhelming urge to draw German Expressionist stuff all over my walls…

-Not rated
-4 out of 5 stars
-OK for teens
Leave a Reply

