Movie review: (horror) “Retribution” (2006)

December 11, 2010 at 10:30 pm (horror, movies)

  This is a fine and creepy entry in the J-horror genre. The director, Kiyoshi Kurosawa (no relation to Akira), is known for his beautiful, atmospheric, and extremely spooky films. Last week I reviewed his movie “Seance.” I was reminded of th…is movie, which I’ve actually seen before, when the ghost girl in red featured in this film showed up in Seance. KK does cool stuff like that.

The background story of this film was a little hard to follow, for me anyway. I don’t know if I’m missing cultural context or what. I have a feeling that the angry ghost is much more than what she appears to be, a woman forgotten by society. I think she represents something bigger, and so does the whole movie. Please, if you know, feel free to enlighten me.

Even though I may not have gotten the whole thing, I really enjoyed this movie. The gorgeous direction alone makes it worth watching. And there are some genuinen scares. Good stuff for fans of high-class Japanese horror.

-Rated R
-4 out of 5 stars
-Possibly OK for older teens, but probably too slow for them

Leave a Reply

