Movie review: (dark comedy) “Who’s Your Monkey” (2007)

December 11, 2010 at 7:35 pm (dark comedy, movies)

This movie is funny. Hilarious, in places. The characters are well developed and interesting. There are some aspects of the plot that I found pretty distasteful, however. I don’t find “zoo” humor amusing. The reality behind it is just too repulsive. (And if you don’t know what that means, I hope you never do.)

I was willing to overlook that, however, because the perpetrator gets wiped off the planet. What I couldn’t overlook was a tendency toward nasty, homophobic remarks in the dialog.

I hate, hate, HATE it when people use the word “gay” to mean stupid or lame. It’s mean and it’s hurtful. What really sank it for me, though, was a comment made by one character to another, regarding the second character’s fears about his ability to satisfy his girlfriend.

The first guy says “If we could satisfy women every single time, the way we’re satisfied every time, they wouldn’t be women. They’d be men, and that would be disgusting.”

Am I telling you that one ugly joke spoiled this movie for me? Well, yeah. I was cruising toward a solid four-and-a-half until that charming remark popped out. Y’know, it would have been a funny joke if they’d just cut it off after “They’d be men.” But no. They had to go hateful.

Sorry. I’m ranting. But I can’t stand crap like that, especially when the screenwriter was clearly intelligent and witty. He should have known better.

-Rated R
-3 out of 5 stars
-Possibly OK for older teens, but I’m sure as hell not showing it to my kids.

Leave a Reply

