Movie review: (horror) “The Legend of Bloody Mary” (2008)

December 10, 2010 at 2:53 pm (horror, movies)

 Okay, yeah, this is a really low budget film. But you know what? I’m giving it three stars for effort. It really is well directed. It has better cinematography than I’ve seen in some mainstream Hollywood movies.

The acting is pretty decent, …overall. I’m inclined to like the story, because it was one of my favorite games as a kidlet. I remember fondly turning off the bathroom light, staring blindly at the mirror, and chanting “Blooooooody Mary! Bloooooody Mary!” until a face would begin to emerge from the depths…

Of course, it was my eyes adjusting to the low light level, and seeing my own silly pasty-white face, but it was kinda awesome when I was 8.

Anyway, nice effects, well put together for a film with a budget this low. If you ask me, it blows the doors off of the similarly themed “Darkness Falls,” which sucked the yolk out of eggs for six counties around it. Go indie filmmakers go!

-Rated R
-3 out of 5 stars
-Probably OK for older teens who are already horror fans

Leave a comment