Movie review: (horror) “From a Whisper to a Scream” (1987)

December 10, 2010 at 4:37 pm (horror, movies)

  DAMN how did I miss this sweet bundle of joy from 1987? Let me start by saying I’m a sucker for anthology horror movies. I’ve loved them since the Chris Lee/Peter Cushing days.

This is an exceptional version of the breed. For one thing, the narrator who ties the stories together is…VINCENT PRICE! How freakin’ cool is that? Even at 80, he was smokin’ hot. I will always love that man.

Then there were the stories. The first three were straight out of “Tales from the Crypt,” which I highly approve of. We even got a rubber monster or two, and plenty of gore. Then there’s the last story. It’s in a category all by itself. Disturbing and unusual. I loved it.

This probably isn’t 4 stars worth of cinematic firepower, but it was definitely 4 stars worth of enterrtaniment for me. If you like the old-school Hammer-style horror (only American), check this out!

-Rated R
-4 out of 5 stars
-Probably OK for older teens who are already horror fans

Leave a Reply

