Movie review: (dark comedy) “Big Fan” (2009)

December 10, 2010 at 3:10 pm (dark comedy)

 This is SO not the kind of movie I watch. I mean, I could give a rat’s furry biscuits about football. But I love love love Patton Oswalt, so I decided to give it a go.

This movie is billed as a comedy, and it has some funny moments, but most… of the humor is very, very dark. It’s mostly a character study about a man whose entire life revolves around one thing, and what happens to him when that thing breaks. Patton Oswalt is freaking BRILLIANT. This just proved to me that he needs to be in lots more movies.

One of the things I really liked about “Big Fan” was that I was never entirely sure where it was going. I really appreciate that in a film. Between being a writer, reading everything that crosses my path, and watching waaaaay too many movies, I can usually smell a plot twist coming a mile away. Not in this flick.

Anyway, if you’re Patton O fan, check it out, it’s really wonderful.

It’s funny–I tend to think of sports fanatics as being silly, obsessing over silly BS that doesn’t really mean anything. Then I look at some of the sh*t that I’m obsessed with, and realize that I’m pretty silly too.

-Rated R
-4 out of 5 stars
-Grownup movie

Leave a Reply

